Skip to content
July 11, 2013 / mommy brain

I’m BACK!

Hello out there in bloggy land! Did you miss me? I realize nobody is actually reading this any more, but for whatever reason, I feel the need to update the blogosphere on my  life in the land of enchantment. (That’s NM for those of you not up on your State nicknames because you didn’t spend hours studying road atlases during cross-country roadtrips as a child.)

A lot has happened since my last update in April (eek I really did fall off the blog wagon, eh?!) I’ve been very busy lazy and unable to update you because of the following list of fascinating things that have occurred. 

1) We redid our backyard.

img_6003

This took way more cash and way more meetings with contractors (I began to hide from them for fear of more questions) than first anticipated, but I am in love with the end result.

img_6004

It was actually a fine backyard before, but I decided that it wasn’t quite kid-friendly enough. We had a rockslide off the end of the patio that T enjoyed climbing and falling on, and lots of pretty but very prickly plants covering most of a sloped yard. So all that went away, and we now have lots of level grass, a much bigger patio with a little wall around it to at least slow down T’s attempts to jump off it, a bigger shade structure, kid-friendly stairs, landscape lighting, AND a wooden playground structure that T loves. We have been spending tons of time in the backyard as a result, so while it busted our budget, I’m very glad we did it.

And on hot days, we do this:

img_6101

2) As a result of a more kid-friendly yard, we’ve had a lot of T-Ball practice.

img_9313

3) We made a big announcement!

img_8915

T’s little sister is due in mid October : D

4) And related to the above announcement, T has been reminding me that, “Mommy is BIG!”

img_9321

that was around 24 weeks

5) In May, we went to Jamaica for a week with our friends from NY. As is always the case when we get together with these friends, we had an awesome time.

141-1

138

img_9093

img_5961

Cutest photo bomb ever:

229

Two preggos is better than one! 228

6) On the way to and from Jamaica, we got to see Auntie M in Houston : )

img_5893

7) We also went to CANADA in May. May was a big month.

We flew up to Alberta to celebrate G’s grandmother’s 95th bday with lots of family. T got to spend lots of time with his Grampie and meet lots of cousins, and G’s uncle and aunt were amazing hosts.

img_9145

img_9114

img_5972

We also got to spend some time with G’s bff/T’s godfather.

img_9167

8) In June, T turned 2!

IMG_9274_2

IMG_9249

IMG_9303_2

9) I got to wear my fave preggo dress to an awards dinner.

photo

10) We went to a couple Isotopes games.

img_5819

img_6080-1

11) We went camping with T’s girlfriend and her brothers and parents. After changing our plans three time due to fires across NM and CO, we made it to one of the only campgrounds in the area allowing campfires in designated fire pits. We got to break in our new pimped out tent and handy shade tent and got a great site right along the river , allowing the boys to throw rocks (and themselves) into the water for hours at a time. And as always, camping with great friends made for an awesome weekend!

img_9343

img_9412 2

img_6138

12) And I’ll actually try to post more about this at some point, but T had lots of fun diving, jumping and swimming.

dscf1162

Phew! That’s a lot, right? Well, not really, but it’s my excuse for not having time to blog. Hopefully you hear from me again in less than three months. Over and out.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. E / Jul 11 2013 2:17 PM

    Yay! I do check in here from time to time and I’m happy to see all of the things that have been going on in your life. Nice backyard!

    • mommy brain / Jul 17 2013 2:46 PM

      Thanks, E! The new backyard makes me very happy! : D

  2. JeAnn / Jul 19 2013 11:42 PM

    I have totally been stalking and waiting for your next post. I have been meaning to bug you about it but I think even I have only seen you 2, maybe 3 times since April 😦 Glad you’re back….I look forward to your blogs 🙂 See you Sunday hopefully!!!

    • mommy brain / Jul 22 2013 4:47 PM

      Awww….thanks, G!! Sorry I didn’t notice this till today. I thought comments from those who have commented before did not need to be approved, but some of the rules may have changes since I’ve been a delinquent blogger for a few months! I am going to email or txt you about something tonight : )

  3. P / Jul 26 2013 10:53 AM

    Nice to see you back!! And so much fun stuff to catch up on!

Leave a Reply

