Skip to content
April 23, 2013 / mommy brain

First time skiing at 21 months – brief but awesome

I managed to get T on skis at Beaver Creek last month!

img_5668

As I’ve mentioned too many times, I’ve been looking forward to skiing with my kiddos since before I had a kiddo of my own. Little kids have no fear and a low center of gravity, which is a key combination for learning to ski and having fun while doing so. One could argue that at 21 months, T was way too little to drag out on a pair of little skis, and that is probably a rational argument, but I decided to give it a go and  strapped some pint sized boot and pint sized skis on T and off we went.

T is quite tall for his age, but his feet are average size for a 21 month old, and the smallest boots at the rental shop were a couple inches too big for his little tootsies. Eh, I didn’t think this was a huge deal.

img_5631

I pulled and pushed my little shredder, and he had fun for about 15 minutes at which point he was done and more interested in the “choo choo,” a.k.a. the gondola, that he decided we needed to ride immediately. Since we used the equipment for a total of 20 minutes and the rental guy was amused with my antics, I didn’t even have to pay for the rental. It was a brief first experience, but I was pleased because all I wanted was for him to have fun and perhaps associate skiing with a pleasant experience. I think I accomplished that, and hopefully next year, at 2 1/2, we can step it up a notch.

While in Beaver Creek, T enjoyed several other “first experiences.”

Driving a snowcat:

img_2481

img_2487

Roasting marshmallows on an open fire:

img_2415

And eating s’mores:

img_2431

img_2438

And eating croissants at the bakery down the street from the condo:

img_5659

The gondola was a huge hit; we rode it a few about twenty times:

img_2413

img_2388

img_2404

And of course, T had a blast playing with his buddies:

img_5705

And with his girlfriend:

img_5697

And T’s mom and dad had a blast, too, thanks to our awesome friends and some fresh powder. Doesn’t get much better than that.

img_5669

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. P / Apr 26 2013 2:00 PM

    You’ll have great pictures to share when T is a world champion skier some day!

Leave a Reply

