Skip to content
January 30, 2013 / mommy brain

Professor Mommybrain

img_5800-1

One of the more enjoyable aspects of my job over the last several years has been participating as a judge in the local university business plan competition and also guest lectures I’ve given to various classes. I still get nervous speaking in public, but I’ve learned to enjoy it, and I have to say that students are my favorite audience because I often actually know more about the topic I’m presenting than they do. Feeling like you know what you’re talking about is a great feeling. Seriously, though, the students I’ve met over the years during the competition and in guest lectures have been great and many of them truly inspirational with their bushy-tailed bright-eyed ambition and eagerness to do great things.

Last fall, I was invited to teach a coarse this spring semester. I was thrilled at the invitation but then debated back and forth with myself for a while, not sure if it was a good idea to add more to my plate when I had recently told myself that I need to do the opposite. I was worried about the time commitment, and felt guilty at the thought of not picking up T from daycare one day per week. The class is once a week from 4 to 6:30PM, so that one night, I would get home not long before T goes to sleep 7:30/8pm-ish. If you know G, you know that he is a superhero dad and husband, so really, he can handle picking up T and spending the evening with him solo. Like he could do it blindfolded. T is in good hands, and it’s really just me worried that I’ll become an even more distant 2nd favorite to Da-da in T’s eyes if I’m not around one evening per week.

img_1895

img_5202

I decided that I would commit to one semester and see how it goes. If I hate it, I’l be done in early May and that will be the end of that experiment. If I love it, I could consider doing it again. If I like it, but the mommy guilt is too tough or the time commitment too much, I can be done in early May and re-engage with the university after T is a little older.

So I’m now an adjunct professor, and I taught my third lecture yesterday. It’s been really fun so far, and the students, as expected, have been awesome with lots of good class discussion. They seem to think that I know what I’m talking about. It’s fantastic.

I was really excited about being called “Professor,” but G told me  to get over myself and let them call me by first name. I guess that’ll do. I’ll keep you posted on my adventures in academia. Hopefully I don’t run out of stuff to teach before May.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Felicia Kemp / Feb 6 2013 3:30 PM

    I’m so proud of you! I’ve always thought that would be SO cool! Yay for you! Hope it goes well.

    • mommy brain / Feb 6 2013 3:38 PM

      Thanks, Felicia! I’m really enjoying it, and the time commitment and associated mommy guilt has not been too bad so far.

Leave a Reply

