Skip to content
January 2, 2013 / mommy brain

2012: It’s been real. 2013: Let’s do this!

Happy New Year, you guys! Hope everyone enjoyed the holidays. I won’t lie, it was crazy around here with twelve people at our place over Christmas, but I loved having so much family around, and T had a blast with his grandparents, aunties and cousins. T was also one lucky little dude because he was one of the only inhabitants of our house over the holidays who did not get the hacking-all-night-and-feel-like-death-for-three-days virus that many of us contracted. I was pleased. Well, I wasn’t pleased when I felt like death for three days, but I was pleased that T was spared. Perhaps the twelve different viruses he brought home from daycare in 2012 really did strengthen his immune system?

Before I go on, I’d like to share our Christmas card. Mainly because I was very happy with it even though we didn’t get any professional photos (pro photographers are expensive, yo!) and our attempts at home-made “professional” family photos didn’t pan out. I wound up using an iPhone photo of T at the park and some photos my sister took of us at a wedding in October.

Slide1

Slide1_2

I know I should have posted this before Christmas, and not after New Years, but dudes, it really was a crazy holiday season for us, and I didn’t have much time to myself for blogging. I actually kinda missed it, though, and plan to continue blogging in 2013. I know you must be so relieved!

Speaking of 2013, I’m pretty pumped for it. I could have never predicted all the fun we had with T in 2012, so I can only assume that 2013 will be even better. Now to reflect a bit on our year, I present to you: The 2012 Mommybrain Year in Review:

In January, we were still in CA, and we kicked 2012 off with a hike on New Years Day –

img_2256

And we celebrated my bday in Santa Cruz –

338904_10150586843799540_758889539_10782057_1645154355_o

photo-90

395061_10150587068034540_758889539_10782925_1172820204_n

In February, we moved back to NM –

img_2398

T attended his first super bowl party, an important milestone, even though his daddy’s team did not come out victorious –

img_2471

One of my oldest friends got married in DC and I had a awesome weekend celebrating –

img_2518

And we had a few great ski days with our friends at Ski Santa Fe; and T had some fun with his buddies –

img_2558

In March, we celebrated G’s bday –

img_6180

And we went to Cali to visit my parents for  a weekend and spent some time with G’s bestie and his fam who happened to be in SoCal the same weekend –

img_2943

And our friend A came to visit –

img_6235

In April, Auntie M came to visit for Easter weekend –

img_1774

img_2973

In May, we spent a week in Mexico with our good friends, and T had a great time with his buddy J –

173

015_15

223

And we spent a weekend at a ranch in Colorado –

img_3330

p1000865

And we also celebrated our five-year wedding anniversary with a fun night out at Farm and Table, a restaurant much fancier than the name implies, and one I highly recommend.

In June, T turned one! –

img_6713

img_6793

And he also went camping for the first time, and had a blast –

img_7061

p1000907

dscf1606

In July, we went up to Denver to visit our friend –

img_7205

And G went to Rio for work, while T and I had a mommy and me science weekend

img_3526

In August, we were up to PEI with G’s dad and sisters and their families –

img_3736

img_7294

img_3765

In September, T, Auntie M and I went to Poland, and had a great trip visiting our grandmas, aunts, uncles, and cousins –

dsc_0322

dsc_0528

Slide1

In October, we had some friends come visit to go to the Balloon Fiesta, which T loved

IMG_7662

And we went to AZ for a fun weekend to celebrate our friends’ wedding and T got his dance on with our friends’ adorable nieces

IMG_7781

And we had a great Halloween

IMG_7829

In November, we spent Thanksgiving in Samara, Costa Rica with my parents and sister, and T couldn’t get enough of the water and especially the waves –

dscf1722

In December, we went to T’s first art show at his daycare, which turned out to be a really fun evening –

img_4835

And we enjoyed  a family-filled Christmas –

img_4899

img_4924

img_8324

img_8376

img_8394

And we kicked off the ski season. I skied an afternoon at Ski Santa Fe with my parents and sister, and G, T and I met some friends in Wolf Creek the weekend before New Years –

img_4990

On New Years Eve, T and I went to toddler hour at Explora! with our friend and her son who is just a little younger than T –

img_5016

And then that evening, we rang in the New Year at our place with some good friends over some heated and highly competitive rounds of “Would You Rather” (a more complicated game than I realized!) and Taboo –

img_5041

So there you have it, folks, our year in a nutshell-mo. It’s been real, 2012. Looking forward to a fantastic 2013! Hope you achieve your dreams this coming year, and if not, I hope you have some fun trying!

Leave a Reply

