Skip to content
November 12, 2012 / mommy brain

Reporting live from the Arctic circle!

We are experiencing a cold front in Albuquerque. I wore shorts to pick up T at daycare on Thursday, but by this weekend, the highs were in the 40s and lows in the 20s, and we were stuffing poor reluctant T into several layers, puffy jacket, hats, and mittens, which he immediately pulled off. I was a happy camper as soon as I pulled out my trusty Uggs and Smartwool socks.

I have some questions for you this morning:

1) Why oh why is that dreaded Taylor Swift song, you know that lyrical masterpiece that goes something like “We are never ever ever ever blah blah BLAH!!!” on the radio ALL THE TIME??? This morning it was literally on all three  pop stations I listen to at the same time. I don’t hate Taylor Swift (until now); I can take her or leave her, but this song is just horrible and needs to go away.

2) If you have a toddler and live somewhere where it’s cold enough to wear mittens, do you have a hard time getting your toddler to wear mittens?

I am having a bitch of time getting T to even put his on. Normally, my response to this kind of thing is “whatever little dude, you are putting this on one way or another” and away we go. He also doesn’t like putting on jackets, but he forgets how much he protested about 3 seconds after we open the door to go outside. The mittens are different and more problematic, though, because I can’t get the darn things on his little paws!

I don’t want child services to come knocking because my poor kid gets frostbite! Well, mainly, I don’t want him to get frostbite, but you know, I also don’t want people to judge me when we’re out in the cold, and I’m wearing mittens while he’s not.

Anyone out there have mittens that are really easy to put on? I envision something that opens up all the way so I can just sort of wrap them around his hands, but I have not seen anything even close to that anywhere.

3) Is it ever OK to wear Uggs to the office? No? Even when it’s effing cold outside? Still no? Hphmmm …sad face.

How was your weekend? Ours was pretty good considering poor T had the butt squirts, also known as the dreaded “D,” much of the weekend. I gotta hand it to the kid, he handles being sick pretty well. He was in a great mood most of the weekend except when he was hit with waves of tummy rumbles.

We went to the mall to get G some new jeans and shoes, and we discovered that the mall just skips over Thanksgiving. It’s all “Ho Ho HO!” and “Tis the season” at the mall. Santa was there because apparently he needs to start in early November if he’s going to meet cash in on the photo ops for all the kids. T wasn’t as impressed with Santa as he was with the Elmo walking around the mall. Adam Sandler was not with him, though, and neither was a penguin with a rose in his lapel-mo.

T also enjoyed checking out all the “balls” hanging on the Christmas tree.

Later on, we braved the cold and went to the park once T was feeling a bit better. Since all sensible people were home out of the cold, we had the b-ball court all to ourselves. Speaking of the cold, we checked in on the situation in Wolf Creek and saw this:

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!

And finally, we attempted a family photo for the Christmas card for the second time on Sunday night, and G made this face in the shots where T is looking at the camera smiling.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. m / Nov 12 2012 10:23 AM

    Use that photo please! i think it captures the essence of G.
    I will look for special mittens for t-bear. Sounds like a fun mission. And agreed, that song is terrible. I immediately change the station as well. She doesn’t even sing for most of it. We could do that.

    • mommy brain / Nov 12 2012 5:36 PM

      I may have to use the photo : ) An yes, if you see mittens that look like they open up really wide making it easier to stuff little paws inside, please pick them up for T! He is anti-mitten.

Leave a Reply

