Skip to content
October 1, 2012 / mommy brain

Back in the USA after a great time in Poland

Hello loyal readers! (I like to pretend that my audience consists of more than just my husband and my sister.) I neglected my blog for the past ten days or so because T, Auntie M and I were in Poland to visit family, and I was roughin’ it without wifi, but I was very happy to be surrounded by family and happy to give my mommy brain a break from email, Facebook, and all things accessible by my iPhone.

It was a great trip, and, as has been the case for most of my visits to Poland, I felt a sense of homecoming when we arrived and sadness upon leaving, knowing that I won’t see the extended family I love and feel so connected to when I’m there again for a long time. They all went out of their way to make our visit awesome, and I so appreciate the time we had.

Sad goodbyes aside, I was thrilled that both my grandmothers got lots of quality time and lots of hugs from T, and that we got to meet and spend time with T’s little cousins, and now we are happy to be safe and sound back home with G.

Order of business for T-bear after we got home:

1) Give daddy 10,000 hugs.

2) Sleep through the night (yes!)

3) Make sure Tommy’s park and swings are still there.

I will post in more detail about the trip, the joys (ha!) of transatlantic flights with a 15 month old, and I even hope to write up a detailed review of the umbrella stroller I so didn’t want to buy. Plus I’m working on writing something about being part of the 0.5 generation (or the more commonly called 1.5 generation, which I believe is a misnomer), those who came over to the States with their parents as kids and live their lives with one foot in a culture far away and the other proud to be an American.

Before I get to all that, here are a couple photos of T with his great grandmas, my babcias, both of whom had a great deal to do with my upbringing and spoiled me with love, attention and chocolate when I was T’s age.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Felicia Kemp / Oct 1 2012 9:50 PM

    Excited to read the follow-up!

    • mommy brain / Oct 3 2012 8:23 AM

      Thank you! I am almost done sorting the gazillion and one photos we took, and then I can work on a full trip post. Thanks for all the great posts and amazing photos you shared during your extended Euro adventure!

  2. JeAnn / Oct 2 2012 9:03 PM

    HEY! I stalk your blog with anxious anticipation of the next awesome story as well as a slight bit of jealousy – seriously, you tell a story so well! I aspire to be a blogger but you set the bar so high (Ok, maybe I’m just really lazy).
    Anyhow, needless to say you have a silent fan (stalker). Love you girl!

    • mommy brain / Oct 3 2012 8:21 AM

      Thanks, G! That means so much to me. I’ll keep writing as long as I know someone is reading! You should totally write a blog. Topics you could cover, which I’m sure the blogosphere would appreciate, include your mad gardening skills, party planning ideas and the challenges of planning an amazing destination wedding!

  3. E / Oct 4 2012 1:31 PM

    Another loyal reader checking in! Can’t wait to see and hear more about the Poland trip!

Leave a Reply

