Skip to content
July 24, 2012 / mommy brain

Fashion slump due to laziness and fatmommyness…and recovery (hopefully) thanks to targeted email advertising and Heidi Klum

I’ve been going through a bit of a fashion slump. Partly because I’ve put the brakes on shopping outside of Target, and I haven’t been feeling the recent stuff at Target, and partially because I haven’t been maintaining my closet in good enough shape for shopping in my own closet. Double fail. I’m also not winning the fight against fatmommyness right now. This is probably the biggest problem of all, but it’s the least fun to address, so I’m going to ignore it for now.

Finally last week, I came up with an outfit I felt awesome in. Super simple, but it worked.

White top: Target, bought recently

Black linen pants: Ann Taylor Loft, bought a couple years ago

Bright green belt: Target

Black shoes: Target

Then later in the week, I had a big evening event, something I spent a bunch of time on for a board I’m on. I figured I should look put together, but I was having issues coming up with an outfit couldn’t get my fashion act together.

I though about going with this, an outfit I love, but I have seriously worn to every event or big meeting I’ve had over the past 9 months.

It was time for a change, and as luck would have it, I woke up the morning the day before the event to a 40% off coupon for Banana waiting in my inbox. Just begging to be used. I try to use coupons when I remember them, but I swear I usually get the best ones the day after I spend big bucks on a new outfit. My coupon luck had turned around, so I figured it was a sign.

I asked G to pick up T from daycare that afternoon so I could go to the mall. Mom of the year award, right? I’m pretty quick at Banana, though, so I was home in time for dinner. I came up with this outfit. I liked it so much, I even took a non-phone photo.

Cream lace top: Banana Republic

Orange skirt: Banana Republic

Brown belt: Banana Republic

Shoes: Target, bought recently

Watch: brown La Mer wrap watch

Bracelet: amber bracelet from Poland, one of my faves

I felt good in this outfit all day and evening. No buyers remorse, especially with my awesome email coupon.

And last weekend, for date night, I wore the same shoes with this dress, which I liked a lot:

Dress: Target, purchased earlier this summer before our vacay

Orange belt: Target, purchased recently

Shoes: Target, purchased recently

Jewelry: A pendant G got me for my first mother’s day + a bracelet he got me for this mother’s day (G’s a great wifey gift shopper) stacked with the same amber bracelet I wore with the new outfit above.

I wore pretty much the same outfit on Monday with a white cardigan and my white La Mer wrap watch because I liked it so much T got up a little early (at the butt-crack of dawn) that morning and the fashion part of my brain (and all other parts of it) were still asleep so I figured it was a dangerous time to come up with something new.

Dress: Target, purchased earlier this summer before our vacay

Cardigan: Target, purchased a couple years ago

Orange belt: Target, purchased recently

Shoes: Target, purchased recently

Watch: La Mer

So I think I’m on my way out of the fashion slump, but I still need to spend some quality time with my closet to get back to good shopping-in-my-own-closet shape. Really, I need more organization and less fatmommyness in my life; fashion slumps will be easier to avoid if those two things are in order. Also, thank goodness Project Runway is back. Now, I just need to find time to watch it. I need more Heidi Klum in my life as well. All in the interest of fewer fashion slumps, and also because she’s awesome.

No fashion slump here.

Thanks for keeping polka dots cool, Heidi! You’re the best.

Any tips or advice out there for getting through a fashion slump? Feel free to also send coupons. Or free stuff đŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

