Skip to content
July 19, 2012 / mommy brain

My dream coffee mug

In my book, any morning that starts with a breakfast sandwich is bound for greatness. Few things in life make me as happy as breakfast. I would put it right after my son, my husband, family, friends, skiing, beer, and pedicures, but actually ahead of french fries. I have a big day today, so I treated myself to the most important meal of the day to kick it off.

But this post is not about my delicious breakfast sandwich, it’s about the travel coffee mug I recently acquired and am using for the first time today. This is the first travel coffee mug I’ve ever purchased. All the others I used over the years were schwag from various conferences. They all appeared fine and functional, but it was all a horrible fraud because they all spilled coffee all over me and all over my car on a regular basis. My sister pointed out that perhaps the cup is not to blame, and I should remember that I am a major klutz. Excellent point, and no doubt my clumsy ass is not helping the situation, but I decided it was time to help myself out with a better travel mug.

Who says your Facebook friends are not your real friends? Most of mine are real, and even the imaginary ones are sometimes very helpful. I asked for awesome travel coffee mug advice on FB, and received many helpful pointers, including the one from my sister telling me that it’s me not the cup (ya thanks!), and several recommendations for the Contigo brand mug. One of my friends even sent this helpful online comparison test of travel mugs –

http://www.caranddriver.com/features/a-mug-for-the-morning-drug-coffee-container-torture-test-feature

which also gave rave reviews of the Contigo Autoseal West Loop Stainless Steel Travel Mug. It took me over a week to actually make it to Target to get one, but I now have one in my possession and it is glorious!

This mug has a “push-button–operated seal that opens and closes the coffee gate,” which is magical and rocks my world. I shook this mug upside down as hard as I could, and NOT A DRIP. No spillage in the car and not a drop on my (new!) outfit. Laaaaa-aaaaa!!!! Angels singing from above!!! Happy day!!!!

No, I was not paid by Contigo for this post, but hey Contigo: I just met you, and this is crazy, but I love your mug, so pay me, maybe?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. auntie m / Jul 23 2012 11:54 AM

    not contigo brand, but i got a mug like this at work recently! with the push button! i’ll have to test it against my klutzy behavior and see how it holds up!

Leave a Reply

