Skip to content
June 27, 2012 / mommy brain

Shopping in my own closet and getting as much milage as possible out of stuff I already own

In the interest of being more responsible with $  (and having $$ to blow on awesome family vacays!), I am trying to shop less. Of course, I still want to look cute as often as possible. With fewer new things, it can be challenging, but I think I’m doing ok by mixing in fun newer low-cost accessories with older items.

Case in point. This skinny bright green belt I got in March. I wear it A LOT, and it seems to work with many different looks and adds a little something to older clothes I found shopping in my owen closet.

In March – Top: Banana Republic; Jacket: Bluefly; Belt: Target; Jeans: 7 for All Mankind; boots: Nine West

In April – Top: Target; Blazer: Boutique in San Luis Obispo, CA; Jeans: Rock & Republic; Belt: Target; Shoes: Banana Republic

Last weekend – Dress: Target; Belt: Target; Shoes: Target (I added some other accessories after taking photo, including my fave La Mer Watch and ran out of time for pics 😉 )

Yesterday – Top: Banana Republic (I bought this loose-fitting top for early preggo days in 2010, but it’s become one of my faves); Jeans: 7 for All Mankind; Flip flops: DSW (I think? Bought on way to reception from church to save feet from adorable but painful heels I wore for a friend’s wedding); Belt: you guessed it…Target!

I’ve actually done a decent job at not blowing too much cash shopping for myself and keeping the organization level in decent shape so I can continue to shop in my own closet. I have not stopped shopping outside my closet altogether because there is still the Target problem…but I have been buying less for myself even at Target. Notice I use the word “less” not “nothing.” It’s a work in progress, and I have been to Target a couple times this month without buying anything for myself! I count those trips as victories. An even bigger victory is the fact that I’ve ordered NO clothing or shoes for myself online since maybe February. What?! I can’t even believe that myself, but unless I’ve gotten so good at hiding new boxes from G that I forget about them myself, it is true.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hottabb / Jun 27 2012 1:09 PM

    very chic!

  2. auntie m / Jun 27 2012 4:31 PM

    ooo those shoes from target are cute!

    • auntie m / Jun 27 2012 4:31 PM

      hahah auntie m stuck from my previous comment.. I’m T’s auntie m, not yours 🙂

    • mommy brain / Jun 27 2012 7:52 PM

      thanks, auntie m! i like those shoes a lot. they go with many different looks and make me really tall ; )

  3. auntie m / Jul 3 2012 7:07 AM

    auntie m has a very important logistical question. what kind of bra did you wear with the pink chevron target dress? strapless?? because the dress straps are so thin, a regular bra’s straps show. i was going to email you, but figure somebody else might have the same question??

    • mommy brain / Jul 3 2012 10:22 AM

      Yes, strapless! I think it’s the only way to go with this dress. Btw, I’ve also worn this dress with a wide belt. Different look, but I liked it as well.

Leave a Reply

