Skip to content
June 8, 2012 / mommy brain

My glamorous day as a Breaking Bad extra

So it turns out I was not full of shit when I said that I was practically part of Breaking Bad. Well, technically, I was full of shit when I wrote it, but that is no longer the case because yesterday, I spent the morning on the set of the show, part of a scene!! You are probably wondering – how did this happen? You’re not in the television industry, nor do you have have any experience with this sort of thing.  All very true, but I do have a resourceful little sister who figured out that you can contact the casting company if you are interested in being an extra. So about a month ago, I sent in a photo of me, G and T, and expressed our interest in being on our favorite show. And sure enough, the casting lady called and asked if I was available this week. She said, in a British accent, “The director picked your photo and asked if you could be part of a scene this week,” and I said, “Well, I’m very busy and very important, but let me check my calendar,” while thinking, “OMG OMG OMG!!!! REALLY????? AHHHHH!!!!” and then I got back on the phone and said, “yes, I think I can move some things around,” while thinking, “Ahh..yes..hold on while I cancel ALL MY MEETINGS!!!”

So I showed up at “base camp” at the assigned time of 7:30AM for my casting call. You know this was important to me because I don’t do anything at 7:30AM unless it involves my son, skiing or something equally awesome. I checked in, signed my life away (more on this later) and filled out the proper paperwork so I could get paid. (I get paid for this??? Sah-weeet!)  I was told to bring 3 outfit choices, and these were reviewed by the “wardrobe people.” I was hoping to wear my current favorite Target dress, and the wardrobe people thought it was perfect until another wardrobe person showed up and declared that I had to change because she may be able to see through the dress in full sunlight, and I did not have a slip. Seriously, who wears a slip nowadays?  Anyway,  I was pointed to a trailer to change into the chosen outfit: jeans, top and jacket. The high was about 90 that day, and it was an outdoor scene, so I was less than psyched to wear jeans and a jacket wore and did whatever they asked because I WAS GOING TO BE ON BREAKING BAD!!!

After a delicious breakfast in one of the trailers (not joking, it was a full spread, eggs, potatoes, breakfast quesadillas, fresh squeezed orange juice, the works!) and chatting with some very nice crew members, I was taken over to the set to start filming.

Unfortunately, this is where this post comes to an end. I cannot tell you more because I signed a piece of paper saying that Mike would send one of his goons to kill me with a box cutter if I reveal anything. Or Gus would rise from the dead to do it himself. Whichever is more convenient.

I can tell you that, while being an extra is not actually all that exciting, it was for me because I am such a big fan of the show, so it was awesome to see how it works and watch the director, actors and crew in action. I can also report that all the people I met were very nice and it was a tightly and efficiently run operation. And I can now say that I was a small for-real part of the most badass tv show ever.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Felicia Kemp / Jun 11 2012 11:09 PM

    So fun, so fun!! Make sure you let us know when it’s going to air and then dish! 🙂

  2. Erika Sauseda / Aug 30 2012 9:29 PM

    Waiting to see your Hollywood moment….have I missed it?

    • mommy brain / Sep 6 2012 12:51 PM

      It aired last week! : ) I was embarrassed to post something before it aired for fear that I would not actually be visible in the scene, but you can see me clearly on the screen. It’s quick, but I am in the park scene, looking at camera as the cops enter the park, toward the end of episode 7 (season 5). I have to admit, I was pretty excited to finally see it! : )

  3. Tyler / Mar 6 2013 10:57 AM

    How were you able to be an extra on the show?!? I would LOVE to do it!

    • mommy brain / Mar 6 2013 11:46 AM

      You have to contact the casting company (http://www.whiteturtlecasting.com/) with the information they ask for a particular casting, usually a headshot and some other info, and they call you if they need someone like you for a scene. It was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

