Skip to content
April 24, 2012 / mommy brain

T-Bear is cuter than running, but running is cuter than a fat mommy!

I really enjoy running in the foothills. Before T came along, I considered myself an avid runner. The hubby may argue that “avid” is a strong word because he was always more disciplined than me, but I ran 2 half marathons with him. One was at 7,000 ft, and the second almost killed me because instead of properly training for that one, I decided to “will myself through it,” but I digress.  We’ve also done a  bunch of 5Ks and 10Ks, including one called “The World’s Toughest 10K,” a run whose moniker did not disappoint. The races were fun, but in the end, running to me means a chance to clear my head at the end of the day. I am not one of those people who can do something as involved as running in the wee hours of the morning, so I always ran in the evening. And it meant I could eat more of the things I love to eat more often. Like french-fries.

Now the truth is I have not been running regularly at all since T came into this world. I haven’t stopped completely, but it’s been more like a run every few weeks rather than running a few times per week. At best. The problem? I have a super cute baby boy who is super fun to play with after work! Seriously, look at him –>

I like to maximize my time with him when we get home. However, now that the glory days of eating-large-quantities-of-whatever-I-want-because-I’m-burning-a-thousand-extra-calories-per-day-while-breastfeeding are over, I need to get my ass back into shape. And running is the only way I know how. I stopped running, but I did not stop eating french-fries. It’s time to find time for running one way or anther. Nobody likes a fat mommy.

The hubby has the same problem – difficulty of finding time to run due to wanting to maximize time with cutie-pie T and fear of fat-daddyness – but his solution has been to run over lunch at work. He can do this because his work building has a shower and he’s a dude who doesn’t require 30 minutes after the run to get back to a presentable state.

The lunch-hour run is not an option for me. However,  t-bear is a pretty good sleeper and has been going to bed pretty regularly around 7:30PM. And this time of year, the sun doesn’t set till close to 8PM here in abq. This means that if hubby gives T his nighttime bottle, I can easily go for a sunset run (bonus sunset viewing!) right after I put him in his PJs and hand him to daddy for his bottle.

We decided to give this a go. My goal was to run at least two evenings this week, and I ran Monday and Tuesday, so I’ve adjusted the goal and will now go for 3. Wish me luck!

(*The fat mommy image is not me; it’s what I’d like to avoid. Hubby said people might think it’s me, and my vain ass was worried enough to add this note.)

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Felicia Kemp / Apr 26 2012 9:48 PM

    Dude – I would have totally added that last note if I were you! 🙂 You ARE hilarious! The hubby and I really enjoyed this post. We’re like a less-in-shape version of you guys, so we are REALLY in trouble and trying to find ways to get back in shape…while still enjoying quality grub. Btw, you are also a nerd with your “>” everywhere, but it’s great! 🙂

  2. mommy brain / Apr 27 2012 9:39 AM

    Thanks, Felicia!! I saw that you guys did a 5K together. That is awesome! We are hoping to do the same in a couple weeks. Well, G will run the 10K probably and I will run the 5K with T strapped in for the ride in the jogging stroller. I got kind of competitive with 5Ks a couple years ago – it was the only distance that I had any chance at scoring a decent time in – so I hope I can relax and just enjoy it since I am not competitive running while pushing the BOB with 24 lb t-bone in there!

Trackbacks

  1. Success in the fight against fatmommyness! « Mommy Brain

Leave a Reply

